



08 August 2024

Dear Valued Stakeholder,

Re: Enforcement of Identification of Engineering Work and Compliance Plans

The Engineering Council of South Africa (ECSA) seeks to provide clarity on the enforcement date of the Identification of Engineering Work.

The Identification of Engineering Work (IDoEW), which outlines the engineering tasks to be carried out by individuals registered in the ECSA registration categories and distinguishes the nature of work to be performed from one registration category to another and from one discipline to the other, was gazetted by the Council in March 2021.

Following the publication of the gazette, the Council commenced with consultations with stakeholders to inform and prepare them to comply with the requirements.

The Council wishes to clarify that the official enforcement date of the IDoEW regulations is not April 1, 2025, but rather that the engineering fraternity is asked to submit compliance plans by March 31, 2025. The plans should contain procedures for ensuring that all engineering work is appropriately identified and ascribed to registered persons.

To ensure a smooth transition, the Council will review the fraternity's compliance with the submitted plans from 01 April 2025. During this time, ECSA will also launch sector engagements to educate stakeholders about the enforcement framework and its implementation.

The fraternity is requested to submit its compliance plans before March 31, 2025 to rpsdservices@ecsa.co.za

Queries on the Identification of Engineering Work to be directed to the following persons:

Mr Mbulelo Hlalukana: <u>mbulelo@ecsa.co.za</u> Ms Nondumiso Thusi: <u>Nondumiso@ecsa.co.za</u>

Kind Regards,

Dr Bridget Ssamula Pr. Eng Chief Executive Officer

*Ms R Buthelezi **Mr T Madikane ***Mr S Mkhize ***Ms P Madiba ***Ms T Ramagofu ***Prof K Nyembwe ***Ms L Njomane ***Dr S Skorpen ***Mr M Mailula ***Mr M Modipa Ms L Smith Mr S Zimu

Mr S Jekwa Ms R Lesufi Mr M Ramuhulu Ms P Mdletshe Mr L Boshomane

Ms A Sole

Ms A Mtshalo Mr T Mamela Prof C van Zyl Mr R Moloisane Mr N Nhleko Prof E Theron Mr A Sommer Ms R Ledwaba Mr N Smit Ms S Mngomezulu Mr T Gamedze Ms P Zweni Adm B Mvovo Dr P Sibiya Ms C Mbola Ms T Mwelase Ms T Chill Mr S Keswa Mr S Tolo Ms N Sampson Ms S Mutileni Mr J Daniels Ms N Rampersad Dr R Legoable